Education & Training

MUA’s Education & Training


It was in April 2000 that MUA established the Board of Urology for the future training of Urologists. The objectives of the Board are:


a) To supervise a comprehensive and structured training programme of urology for
those who have completed Basic Surgical Training.

b) To enable trainees to achieve the training and experience necessary for independent
practice and to be eligible as a full member of MUA.

c) To Co-ordinate all urological training in Malaysia


The first Board of Urology was held on November 20-21, 2000. Prof. Anthony Mundy from United Kingdom and Prof. KT Foo from Singapore were invited to be the external examiner. Both the trainees passed the examination.


Period of Training: 4 years


Entry Criteria:


i) Masters in General Surgery (M.S) or FRCS


This subcommittee is set up by the association for the purpose of establishing and maintaining the standard of urological training in Malaysia.  The Board shall carry out assessment of training by regular inspections, interview with the trainers and trainees and shall have power to award or remove accreditation of urological units/departments as training centres from time to time.  The board will recommend to the association upon completion of training and assessment whether an associate member be admitted to full membership.  Members on the MUA Board of Urology, who shall be full members of MUA, shall include:


i)     National Head of Urology Services (Chairman – H Selayang)
ii)    Heads of MOH Departments of Urology (HKL, Johor Bahru, Penang, Sarawak, Sabah, Kelantan, Pahang)
iii)    A second consultant from the Department of Urology
iv)    Head of Department of Urology, UMMC
v)     Head of Department of Urology, UKMMC
vi)    Head of Department of Urology, HUSM
vii)    A Urologist representing the Academy of Medicine of Malaysia*
viii)   A Urologist representing private hospitals*


* 3 –year term, non-consecutive

Training Centres:


i)    Institute of Urology & Nephrology, HKL
ii)   Department of Urology, Hospital Selayang
iii)   Department of Urology, Hospital Pulau Pinang
iv)   Department of Urology, Hospital Sultanah Aminah, Johor Bahru
v)    Department of Urology, Hospital Umum Sarawak, Sarawak
vi)    Department of Urology, Hospital Queen Elizabeth, Sabah
vii)   Urology Unit, University Malaya Medical Centre
viii)  Urology Unit, University Kebangsaan Malaysia Medical Centre
ix)    Urology Unit, Hospital Universiti Sains Malaysia
x)     Urology Unit, Hospital Raja Perempuan Zainab II, Kota Bahru, Kelantan
xi)    Urology Unit, Hospital Sultanah Bahiyah, Alor Setar


Malaysian Board of Urology Curriculum 2018. Please download HERE